site site site my site my site my site
+61 8 8150 5200

Australia • New Zealand

Webinar : Evaluate Surface Coating Mechanical and Frictional Properties

Home News Webinar : Evaluate Surface Coating Mechanical and Frictional Properties
Webinar : Evaluate Surface Coating Mechanical and Frictional Properties
20 Jun

Webinar : Evaluate Surface Coating Mechanical and Frictional Properties

Thursday 27 June 2019

 

New Zealand (NZST) : 5:30pm
Brisbane/Sydney/Canberra/Melbourne/Hobart (AEST) : 3:30pm
Adelaide (ACST) : 3pm
Perth (AWST) : 1:30pm

 

Register

In the modern engineering community there is a growing need to reduce friction, wear rate and increase durability of the mechanical components. Traditionally these problems were resolved by changing the bulk materials or by utilising lubrications. The recent development in surface engineering fueled by our understanding of the importance of surface properties on tribology and development of new coating and treatment methods have provided another approach to friction and wear control. From biomedical to optical and from microelectronics to decorative applications, coating now plays a major role. 

In this webinar presented by Bruker Nano Surfaces we investigate the measurement and characterisation of surface coatings and their mechanical properties. Specifically we will look in to characterising the adhesion strength between coating and the substrate and the hardness of the coatings. We will also touch on wear and lifetime characterisation of the coated surfaces.